Rush v. Hannity

I really love Rush Limbaugh. He’s so incredibly smart, keen, and, though some believe him to be pompous, modest.

I really have a hard time liking Sean Hannity. He’s annoying, repetitive and self-involved. That’s not to say that he’s not a great person, but as a radio and television personality, he’s intolerable to me.

I’m a bona fide Rush Baby. One of my earliest memories is waiting in the car at the Deposit Guarantee bank listening to this guy on the radio under the Clinton administration. I didn’t really know much about what he was saying because I was about seven or eight years old. This summer, my dad and I went to the College World Series and listened to him while we were driving. That really started my interest in Rush Limbaugh and talk radio again. Later that summer, I was in the car with the some of my yearbook staff going down to a conference in Austin and I actually called in. I got on the air and I was scared to death. I didn’t say much and I stuttered and didn’t really communicate my point very well, but I was the happiest person in the world. I subscribed to Rush 24/7 and bought his books and still think he’s one of the humblest people I’ve ever “met”, for lack of a better word.

Sean Hannity, on the other hand, I “met” on Fox News and liked him to start with, but that’s because he was provocative and he was a Republican. Then, after I started listening to Rush on WBAP, I heard him on the radio because his show airs right after Rush’s and after I get out of school. I started listening to what he was saying, and how he was saying it, and I became rather disgusted. The intro to his show seems to show that he fancies himself as a rather important part of the conservative front. It starts with Jeremiah Wright saying his name (though it really sounds more like O’Shaunesee) and continues with excerpts of Obama and others saying his name from the 2008 campaign. That really disenchanted me. Then, in his show, he says some very outrageous things, gets callers on and makes fun of them and repeats himself. The last thing there is my biggest problem. One could probably listen to his radio show only once every two or three days and not miss a beat. Hannity seems to lack original material each day with which he can create an interesting show.

That’s not to say that he does not try hard or does not do his best. I’m sure he does and this is not to discount anything he does. This is an appeal for him to tone down the bravado, think things through before they fly from his mouth and take a leaf out of Rush’s book and soften the hostility.

I thank both of those men for doing what they do each day, for the conservative front would be in trouble without them.

Leave a Reply

