What We Can Learn From HuffPost.

No, I’m not advocating their incredibly unjust and obviously biased comment screening policies. Nor am I opining the poor journalistic standards of that muckraking rag–I mean newspaper. But if there is one redeeming quality in the entire operation, it’s the technological interconnectedness that the site features.

One of my facebook friends posted a link to an “article” by Bill Maher earlier today. Naturally, I read it and wanted to comment. This was not the first time I had commented on an article on their site, but I had forgotten my login information for one account and had gotten the other one banned. So I started to put in all of my information (again) and tried to remember an old email account I could enter. Then I saw that I could connect my Twitter, Facebook, Google and Yahoo! accounts with it. I hitched Google up and composed my comment.

Under the comment box, there was a collection of six check-boxes with which one could publish their comments to a plethora of social networking platforms, including blogs and more mainstream sites.

I scrolled up to the top of the page after I commented and saw that I could, with one click of my mouse, share the article on Digg, Reddit, Facebook, Twitter et cetera.

This sort of mass-publicization is something in which the rightward movement has not partaken. Though Twitter has become a platform for conservatism and the tea parties, especially with #tcot and #tlot, there is an element missing that sets the liberals apart from the conservatives in internet message-spreading. Sure, we’ve all got blogs and facebooks and twitters, but getting the message out is contingent on sharing our handiwork.

It has to be easier for people to share our articles and thoughts. Digg is an important tool that conservatives ought to try to use more if they are intent on spreadin’ the word. Everyone in the world seems to have a Twitter and a Facebook, so add those little buttons that allow readers to share the article on those platforms.

One way to fight the negative stereotypes that Keith Olbermann and the rest of the MSNBC gang pin on us is to get our message out there, and show that we are not, in fact, idiots. Showing what we know and how we think–or, really, that we think–is important in this new era of internet politics. Obama’s election proved that the internet can make a difference, and if we didn’t learn our lesson in 2008, we need to do so quickly, or we risk losing in the midterms.

Leave a Reply

